Mid-year Book Freakout Tag

Welcome to the tag everyone is doing at the moment. I haven’t been tagged in this (of course) but I’m still doing it anyway.

Mid year book freak out tag

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2018.

This is no doubt Beautiful Boy by David Sheff. I’ve only had four five star reads this year so far unfortunately but Beautiful Boy was one of them. I absolutely adored this book and done a full review here.

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2018.

I think this has got to go to What’s a Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne which I thoroughly enjoyed and gave 5 stars.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.

I Wish You All the Best by Mason Deaver. I recently bought it after hesitating about buying it since the space on my shelves are limited but decided to go for it since I’ve never read a book about a non-binary character.

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

This is difficult. I think either The Gentleman’s Guide to Getting Lucky by Mackenzi Lee (even though I still haven’t read The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy) or The Places I’ve Cried in Public by Holly Bourne.

5. Biggest disappointment.

I hate to say this but…Queen of Air and Darkness by Cassandra Clare. I wrote a discussion (spoilers in the link I’m about to give) post here. I was so disappointed with this book. It took me forever to read and I just didn’t feel satisfied.

6. Biggest surprise.

I think this has probably got to go to Beautiful Boy again because as much as I wanted to read it because of the movie coming out, I was also a bit hesitant as I’m not the biggest fan of autobiographies/memoirs. But boy, did I love this. It’s actually really got me into reading memoirs now. I don’t think I’ll ever be a huge fan on autobiographies, but memoirs, I think I now enjoy.

7. Favourite new author. (Debut or new to you)

This is hard as I’ve not read a ton of new-to-me or debut authors. So I’m either going to go with Louise Gornall (Under Rose-Tainted Skies) or L.C. Rosen (Jack of Hearts (and other parts)). Neither of their books were a solid 5 stars but I did still enjoy them both.

8. Newest fictional crush.

I’m not sure I actually have one. Oops.

9. Newest favourite character.

I can’t say they’d quite make it onto my top 10 favourite characters or anything, but I can’t really think of another favorite character and that is Suzanne from Fierce Fragile Hearts. Like I mentioned above, I really warmed towards Suzanne in this book.

I also did enjoy reading about Hope (I think that was her name, I’ve actually forgotten, oops) as a character in Happy Girl Lucky. I wouldn’t say she’s a favourite character but I just enjoyed reading about her.

10. Book that made you cry.

Five Feet Apart had me in tears at the end. I rated this quite high because I personally really enjoyed this but I do understand people’s points for not liking this book. But like I said, I personally really enjoyed it and it did have me crying a lot by the end.

11. Book that made you happy.

I think I’m going to go for Happy Girl Lucky by Holly Smale again. I know it deals with some tough issues, but I just loved Hope and and hopelessly in love she was or wanted to be and despite dealing with a tough issue, there is always something so uplifting about Holly Smales writing.

12. Favourite book to film adaptation you saw this year.

I’ve only watched two movies this year and both were book to film adaptations. One was Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J.K. Rowling, but I read the screenplay so I feel like this is cheating a bit since it was the screenplay I read (but that being said, I did LOVE the film) and then the other was, of course, Beautiful Boy. This was such an emotional film and while I thought it could be a bit confusing to those who haven’t read the book, I really loved it. I think my favourite film-wise, though, is probably Fantastic Beasts just by a tiny bit.

13. Favourite review you’ve written this year.

I think this is probably either my review of Beautiful Boy or Check Mates. I honestly can’t say which is my favourite.

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

I’ve got to say, I absolutely LOVE the cover of I Wish You All the Best.

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

I’ve kind of given up on my yearly TBR. I’ve been having too much fun with read-a-thons and mood reading that I’m just going to continue the way I am and not feel pressured to read certain books for the rest of this year.


Like usual, I won’t tag anybody for this tag since I wasn’t actually tagged myself.

Lucy 🙂 x

Goodreads ||Instagram ||Twitter || Pinterest || Writing blog

2 thoughts on “Mid-year Book Freakout Tag

Leave a comment