TTT: Settings I’d like to see more of

This week’s theme for Top Ten Tuesday is settings I’d like to see more of. You can find all the information on That Artsy Reader’s page here.

I’ve got to say I struggled with this one. I much more of a YA contemporary reader so most of the settings are always home and schools and then around the town they live in…but that being said, there are definitely some settings I’d like to either see more of or read more of!

So, here are my 5 settings I’d like to see more of!

TTT

Boarding Schools

I’m a sucker for a boarding school book but haven’t found many in YA. I’m going to hunt them down whether they’re YA or children’s books. I need all the boarding school settings.

Mainstream UK schools and sixth form

This is definitely something I have read about in UKYA of course but it’s also a setting I’d happily read more and more of. As much as I can enjoy a book in an American school, I just can’t find myself relating to it as much as I do with UKYA. I’ve also added Sixth Form in here as well as even though I only attended sixth form for like 3 weeks, it’s something I wish I was able to continue with so I like to live that experience through books instead.

Countryside/Villages

So many UKYA books are set in town where the characters are in walking distance of each other and don’t need to worry about buses or getting lifts from parents (I’m guilty of not writing this into my own stories, but is something I’m going to work on!). As someone who lives in a village and has the struggle of not being able to meet a friend who lives in town whenever I want without having to worry whether my parents can give me a lift or not (and not a capable enough adult to use the bus haha) I would love to see a character live in a village and even have a village friend or something.

Abandoned places/buildings

I am fascinated by abandoned places, especially with their history. It would be so cool if this was a more common setting or place where events take place. I’m not saying the whole story has to revolve about an abandoned place, but it would just be cool if it was a part of it.

Woods and Forests

I find woods and forests so magical and especially if I was reading a children’s/MG book, I would love to see some sort of magical woods or forest! Or maybe YA characters that go on a walk through a forest or go camping or something.


What are some settings you’d like to see more of?

Goodreads ||Instagram ||Twitter || Pinterest || Writing blog

10 thoughts on “TTT: Settings I’d like to see more of

    1. I read Solitaire by Alice Oseman which I found I loved the sixth form setting but that’s the main one I can think of off the top of my head! I never continued on with sixth form but it’s still something I enjoy reading about and I think me too, I feel like I want to know what I missed out on!

      Like

    1. I’ve just read your list and see that you too have abandoned settings on yours, WE NEED MORE ABANDONED PLACE SETTINGS!!! I think there is something so magical about a forest yet I don’t feel like I see enough of them!

      Like

  1. I would love to read some books set in the UK school system too! I think that’s why I haven’t been really reaching for YA contemporary recently as I just can’t relate with the school system. And yes to woods and forests, abandoned buildings, and the countryside!
    Great post Lucy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment