Mid-year Book freak out tag

I’m a little bit late to this tag but I still really wanted to do it so here it is, the mid-year book freak out tag! (I obviously wasn’t tagged oops)

Original creators : ReadLikeWildfire and Earl Grey Books

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2017.

This is such a hard choice! I think I’m going to have to go with Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare. I think it will always be hard to beat a shadowhunters novel for me. It took me a while to read but I’m glad it did and I enjoyed every second of it.

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017.

None. I’m dreadful with series. I read the first book and just kind of forget to read the sequels…

Update: I completely forgot Lord of shadows is a sequel. So Lord of Shadows it is!

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.

A quiet kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard.

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

Truthfully, I’m not really on the bandwagon with books being released at the moment, so I don’t actually know!

5. Biggest disappointment.

Tape by Steven Camden. I was looking forward to this book so much and it was just such a huge let down!

A Game of Thrones was also quite a disappointment for me. Don’t get me wrong, the world building and characters were brilliant and it must take a lot of imagination for all of that, but the writing I didn’t enjoy that much.

6. Biggest surprise.

I think this is probably Horses, Divorces and Hissy fits by Tina Cryer. I wasn’t really expecting much from this book and thought it would be filled with the horse book clichΓ©s but I was surprised to find it wasn’t. It was something new and different for me.

7. Favourite new author. (Debut or new to you)

Sara Barnard. I have only read Beautiful Broken Things but I absolutely loved her writing style and can’t wait to get to A Quiet Kind of Thunder.

8. Newest fictional crush.

I’m not sure if it’s a crush or if it’s just because I’m super passionate about him, but I’m going to go for Mark Blackthorn from Lord of Shadows anyway. I really love Mark and most of my goodreads updates were just about how Mark must be protected.

P1140661.JPG

9. Newest favourite character.

I’m going to have to go for another Lord of Shadows character and that is Ty Blackthorn. And Kit too actually.

But if I had to choose another character that’s not from Lord of Shadows, I’m going to choose Leo Valdez from The Lost Hero (Heroes of Olympus #1). I loved Leo and looked forward to his perspective.

10. Book that made you cry.

Guess what, it’s Lord of Shadows again! I full on sobbed at the end of that book.

11. Book that made you happy.

Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig. There was just so much I really loved about that book and it was so comforting (or at least in my opinion it was, haha).

12. Favourite book to film adaptation you saw this year.

I haven’t seen one! Though I would really like to see Everything Everything.

13. Favourite review you’ve written this year.

I think my Horses, Divorces and Hissy Fits review, though I’ve only written two reviews on this blog this year so far.

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

I think I should chose a different book from Lord of Shadows so I’m going to say either Caraval or Beautiful Broken Things. It’s a hard choice, they’re both beautiful.

P1140648

 

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

The list goes on and on. But a few I really want to get to are:

  • To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before – Jenny Han
  • Carry On – Rainbow Rowell
  • The Rain – Virginia Bergin
  • The Bassoon King – Rainn Wilson
  • Lola and The Boy Next Door – Stephanie Perkins

So that was the Mid-year book freak out tag! What is a book you really want to read by the end of this year?

Lucy πŸ™‚ x

2 thoughts on “Mid-year Book freak out tag

  1. I’m definitely feeling better about not having yet started a series this year, lol. I’ve been meaning to start the Shades of Magic series, as it seems to currently be just about everybody’s favorite new trilogy, but, well, I’m likewise dreadful with series. I just feel like it’s a huge commitment I’m not sure I’m ready for.
    OMG, is a film adaptation of Everything Everything really coming out? I had no idea!
    I look forward to reading more from you in the future Lucy.. Happy Reading! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Series are definitely a huge commitment! I’m glad I’m not the only one isn’t too great with series. There’s so many I’ve started but need to finish (mainly just the first book haha). I think the film adaptation of Everything Everything is already out! It came out in May in the US I think!
      Thank you so much for reading! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

