Why I dropped out of sixth form

I feel this is going to be quite a different post to my usual kinds of posts but I figured I’d do it anyway. I guess it’s more of a discussion type piece rather than lists of some sort. And that post is, as titled, why I dropped out of sixth form

I think the best place to start is why I actually joined sixth form. When we had to apply, I was, like everyone else, studying for my GCSEs and I had no idea what I wanted to do and so I just went along and joined my schools sixth form. I didn’t really bother with looking at college or other sixths forms even, as my health was bad so I was only doing part time and my schools sixth form was the closest.

I was only in sixth form just over a month before I was in a place where I couldn’t attend at all, and it wasn’t long after that I decided it wasn’t right for me and dropped out.

Now, I can’t say I hated sixth form, but I did hate what was to come. That is exams and coursework and pressure for university choosing. And I wasn’t in the right place to do that. I didn’t know what I wanted to do and I really don’t want to go to university unless I have to, and all the sixth form focuses on is getting people into their top university choice. I was basically going to be an outcast to them. All they cared was about university.

Another reason I dropped out was because of support. My school was understanding of my struggles but that was about it. The actual support wasn’t terrific. They let me do part time which was useful but that was the only support put into practise. I must say, two of my art teachers were so lovely and they were genuinely supportive. My English teachers, however, just understood.

And then I decided I wanted to go to a college instead. Not a sixth form college, but a proper college, where they have courses like makeup and beauty, where you can only choose one course. I had a meeting with a couple of teachers there and they had such a strong plan for support, I couldn’t help but feel desperate to go.

Now, I’m not saying sixth form is bad. I thoroughly enjoy my English Language A-level (my art was a BTEC), but personally, sixth form just wasn’t for me. I was doing exams and I didn’t have any time to think about where I wanted to go, in fact, any other place wasn’t even an option at the time, but as soon as I had time to breathe and think, I realised I was doing it for the sake of it.

I never thought I would have been going to college but I suppose here I am, desperate and excited to go.

Lucy 🙂 x

2 thoughts on “Why I dropped out of sixth form

Leave a Reply

