T5W : Books to get you out of a reading slump

Sorry for being MIA. I wrote a quick post a couple of posts ago explaining why and have left it up as it still applies. I’ve been meaning to do T5W for a couple of weeks now but due to being MIA, I haven’t. So, here it is!

Link to the Goodreads T5W group

This weeks topic: Books to get you out of a reading slum

(This is not in order)

  1. Clockwork Angel/ The infernal devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare

    clockwork_angel_1

This is one of my all-time favourite books. I absolutely love the characters and think they  are the best characters to get you out of a reading slump. The plot is amazing and I was not someone who read much until I read this series. As it is a fantasy, I didn’t think I would enjoy it at all but I gave it a try anyway. So if it got me reading, I think it would help get someone out of a reading slump!

 

2. Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrickhushhush

Okay, this is actually a pretty bad book, its cheesy, it’s written poorly, but holy balls was I hooked. If you really can’t stand cheesy stories about girls falling in love with ‘bad boys’, then this probably won’t do it for you I’m afraid, but if a bit of cheese is your guilty pleasure, then this book is perfect. Despite it being a pretty crap book in everyway, I was deeply hooked on the plot, I can’t lie. Though I did read this 2 or 3 years ago, so maybe my opinions changed…

286868403. Holding up the universe by Jennifer Niven

While I much preferred ‘all the bright places’, this book makes me so much happier. I can’t say the plot is that extraordinary, but I do love the characters and the relationships. I just think it would be a really lovely read to get out of a slump.

 

4. Harry Potter by J.K Rowlingharry_potter_and_the_philosophers_stone_book_cover

This one is probably a pretty obvious one, or at least to those who have read Harry Potter! Sometimes I feel returning to a book you love is perfect for getting out of a reading slump and I think for anyone who’s read Harry Potter feels like returning back to the world is such a comfort. Plus, rereading a book you love means you don’t have to focus as much since you probably know what’s going to happen and it’s nice getting all those little memories back. And for those who haven’t read Harry Potter, I recommend starting!

the_selection_cover5. The Selection by Kiera Cass

I think this would make a brilliant getting-out-of-a-reading-slump book. There’s just something about it. It’s got quite an easy to read writing style and is a fun plot, a bit like the hunger games but a little lighter. It’s not too long which is always a huge pro when you’re in a reading slump. Again, it’s probably not the best book in the world, but I think when you’re in a reading slump, you need a book that’s light, without complex sentences and plots and characters.

 


I’m not entirely sure if any of these books have gotten me out of a reading slump or not, but I think I’ll be turning to one of them if a reading slump comes along!

Feel free to share any books that got you out of a reading slump!

Lucy 🙂 x

10 thoughts on “T5W : Books to get you out of a reading slump

  1. I love rereading Harry Potter – last year I did that three times! No shame 😛 I audiobook the series though, that way I can listen while commuting or just lying in bed or cleaning or anything like that! Taking a little break now though.

    I read the Selection series sometime last year, early 2016 I believe, and I just sped through the series! I could not put it down! Like you said, it may not the the best of stories, but it was really enjoyable, a bit like The Hunger Games but a lot less serious and a little bit The Bachelor-like! I think it’s the perfect series if you feel a bit stuck and don’t know what to read because nothing seems to interest you, and it’s somewhat girly without being over-the-top romance, even though that’s kind of the point in the series haha. I really enjoyed it anyway, might reread it later this year! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I must say, I have yet to finish Harry Potter, with only the Deathly hallows to be read, but I really want to find the time to really sit down and appreciate the last book! I may also be a little terrified for it all to end!
      I am yet to finish the Selection series too but I am in desperate need of finishing it off but I also want to wait until I feel in that mood where I’m stuck for reading! I completely agree with you though! I just love how easy and fast paced it is, and it’s not too long either which is nice sometimes! Hope you enjoy rereading it whenever that may be! Thank you for your comment! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I envy you, having the last books left to read! I really wish I got the chance to read my favorite books again for the first time – especially HP as I read it when it came out and I was so young, I think I’d appreciate it more now at 25, but I still absolutely love rereading them anyway! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I saw a movie once where a woman got amnesia and her husband was trying to “recreate” her memory basically and talking about how she now got the pleasure of falling in love with her favorite films and books over again and I remember thinking I wish I could do that – just minus the amnesia aspect!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I just recently finished the Infernal Devices series. I started reading City of Bones last year and haven’t really stopped reading Cassandra Clare’s books. I also read the selection series and LOVED it! Both are GREAT suggestions!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I absolutely love Cassandra Clare’s books! I know some people don’t like City of Bones and City of Ashes and I can understand why but I’m afraid I’m hooked on her books so I don’t care aha! I have on read the Selection and am in desperate need to get my hands on the rest! Thank you for you comment! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

