The Makeup Book tag

I saw this tag over on Sitting in the Clouds and decided that this was a tag I wanted to do. So, I obviously wasn’t tagged but I thought it would be nice to do a tag for a change and I’m pretty sure most people do tags they weren’t tagged in. This tag discusses you favourite makeup product and then a discussion about a book using the prompt that comes with each item.

Primer: Pick a book that left a lasting impression on you. 

Makeup: None, I don’t use a primer.P1110421.JPG

Book: Room by Emma Donoghue. I absolutely loved this book and was one of my favourites from last year. My mums currently reading it (though she has been for the last few month) and not enjoying as much as I did, but I just really love this book, especially the first half. My memory has been pretty bad lately, so I’ll read a book, maybe do a review, and then will more than likely forget most of what happened, but I can still remember Room pretty well!

Foundation: Favourite first book in a series.

Makeup: Illuminating Touch by Collection in Porcelain. This is my first foundation so I haven’t got chance to use any others but I’m pretty happy with this one.p1110451

Book: I’ve decided to go with The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness, which is the first book in the chaos walking trilogy. So many people have read Patrick Ness but never the Chaos Walking Trilogy, and it is a trilogy you hear of a decent amount, but it never feels like there’s much appreciation for this series, and it’s such a good series. The Knife of Never Letting is definitely my favourite out of the trilogy, though the other books aren’t bad or lacking in my opinion (compared to some series where it almost gets worse and worse), it’s just my preferred book out of the three.

Concealer: Pick a character you wish didn’t exist. 

Makeup: Lasting Perfection by Collection in Fair. This is my third concealer I’ve tried and it’s definitely my favourite. I can understand the hype around it.P1110457.JPG

Book: Mia and Adam from If I stay by Gayle Forman. I don’t even have the physical copy of this book anymore I disliked it that much. I hated basically all the characters from this book apart from Teddy (was that even his name?! I cant remember). In summary, I wish this book didn’t exist. I even tried watching the movie and I couldn’t stand that. I’m sorry if you’re a huge lover of this book, but it’s really not for me.

Powder: Pick your favourite last book in a series. 

Makeup: I just use the Natural Collection in Neutral which I think’s the Boots brand? I don’t know but I’ve only seen in boots. It cheap (Β£1.99) and does the job perfectly. P1110461.JPG

Book: I’ve gone with Finale by Becca Fitzpatrick. It’s been a long time since I read this series (okay maybe like 3 years, I don’t know) so I can’t exactly remember it too well, but I’m pretty sure I enjoyed it. APART FROM WHEN ONE OF MY FAVOURITES GOT KILLED OFF. I think it was this book anyway. I really did love this series and still stand by it by being my guilty pleasure. It’s really not that good, I promise you, but I’m trash so I enjoyed it deeply. I think I may have to do a reread of it soon.

Eyebrows: Pick a book you think everyone should read.

Makeup: Eyes uncovered nude palette from Collection (There’s a bit of a collection theme going on here aha), using the darkest shade. It’s got the slightest of shimmer, but barely noticeable. It does the job at least anyway.p1110468

Book: My all time favourite book, It’s kind of a funny story by Ned Vizzini. It deals with mental illness in a light-hearted way and is very accurate. As some who suffers with anxiety and depression and all that jazz, sometimes when reading a book that portrays a mental illness realistically and deeply, it can be quite triggering, but this book I didn’t feel one bit triggering and the ending is so lovely and positive. I just really love this book and will always stand by it.

Eyeshadow: Pick a book with your favourite colours on the cover.

Makeup: This was such a hard choice. Eyeshadow palettes are my favourite makeup item. But I decided to go with my Tanya Burr Enchanted Dream eyeshadow palette. I could have chosen one of my beloved naked palettes, but I wanted to choose something a little P1110471.JPGdifferent. I do absolutely love this eyeshadow palette.

Book: I’m very indecisive on favourite colours but right now I’m into light blues and always love pastels and quite like yellow so I went for All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. This is probably one of my favourite covers. And I love the book too!

Eyeliner: Pick a dark and mysterious book. P1110493.JPG

Makeup: I have no idea what brand this is, but it’s called Dazzle and I picked it up at Savers and I like it.

Book: I think the darkest and most mysterious book I’ve read has probably been The Girl On the Train by Paula Hawkins. I had mixed feelings on this book which I will link a review to, but it was dark, no doubt about that.

Mascara: Pick a long book. 

Makeup: I’m currently using the Soap and P1110505.JPGGlory Thick and Fast. I’ve struggled with finding a mascara I like and I do quite like this one and so far I haven’t had any troubles with it!

Book: There were a few options for this but I haven’t touched good old City of Heavenly Fire for a long time so it seemed right to touch it again. It’s been a longgg time.

Highlighter: Pick a book that brightens your day. 

Makeup: I use the Revolution vivid baked highlight in Golden Lights most. P1110509.JPG

Book: This isn’t my most favourite of books, but the thought of the characters makes me happy, and that it Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven. Libby makes me so happy, Jack’s kinda an arse but they’re cute together.

Lipstick: Your favourite book kiss. 

Makeup: Collection Lasting Colour in China Rose. I absolutely love this colour so much.

Book: I can’t really remember any specific book kisses that well, but I recently reread Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare AND I COMPLETELY FORGOT ABOUT THAT KISS. But any TID kiss will do it for me. I ship both Wessa and Jessa. (And Heronstairs, not gonna lie)P1110516.JPG


I really enjoyed doing this tag! I think I will aim to do some more tags in the future, so any tag recommendations are welcome. I am already planning on doing the Unpopular opinions tag though with my unpopular opinions, it probably needs a whole blog to itself. I think I’ll be doing the intimidating TBR tag too.

Feel free to share any of your favourite makeup products or answers to the prompts above! I’d love to know!

Lucy πŸ™‚ x

Instagram || Pinterest || We heart it

2 thoughts on “The Makeup Book tag

Leave a Reply

