2016 Reading Recap!

At the beginning of the year, I had no idea how much I’d actually end up reading as I knew this year I had my GCSEs which I would want to focus hard on and then would be starting sixth form in September and didn’t know how much time I would have. So I think I set my reading goal to 50 books at the beginning of the year, as read over 50 they year before.

And for the most part of the year, I was on track. But it was when it got to about September I started to fall behind. And then I was admitted to hospital and my reading pattern was all over the place, so I cut it down to 45 books.

And I managed it! I had given up all hopes on the 30th, as I had only ready 43 books and just wasn’t going to put the pressure on myself to try a complete it. And then I found two books I hadn’t actually added on my “Read” list for this year. (I’d read them in hospital where I  couldn’t update my goodreads and complete forgotten to do it when I came home!).

So 45 books it was. And here are the 45 books I read this year:

  • Car-Jacked – Ali Sparkes
  • Fire colour one – Jenny Valentine
  • Binge – Tyler Oakley
  • The Amazing Book is Not on Fire – Dan Howell and Phil Lester
  • A Thousand Pieces of you –  Claudia Gray
  • The Crowham Martyrs – Jane McLoughlin
  • If you were me – Sam Hepburn
  • Throne of Glass – Sarah J. Maas
  • Me before you – Jojo Moyes
  • The door that led to where – Sally Gardner
  • Winger – Andrew Smith
  • Gracefully Grayson – Ami Polonsky
  • Kindred Spirits – Rainbow Rowell
  • The Rithmatist – Brandon Sanderson
  • My Heart and Other Black Holes – Jasmine Warga
  • Lady Midnight – Cassandra Clare
  • Am I Normal Yet? – Holly Bourne
  • Dead To you – Lisa McMann
  • The Manifesto on How to be Interesting – Holly Bourne
  • The Name of this Book is Secret – Pseudonymous Bosch
  • The Railway Children – E. Nesbit
  • The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time – Mark Haddon
  • Vampire Academy #1 – Richelle Mead
  • The Raven King – Maggie Stiefvater
  • This Song will Save your Life – Leila Sales
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas
  • Girl Online On Tour – Zoe Sugg
  • The Five People You Meet in Heaven – Mitch Alborn
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – J.K Rowling
  • Time Travelling with a Hamster – Ross Welford
  • Uglies – Scott Westerfield
  • The Unexpected Everything – Morgan Matson
  • Room – Emma Donoghue
  • Everything Everything – Nicola Yoon
  • The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • Anne of Green Gables – L.M. Montgomery
  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince – J.K Rowling
  • The Rest of Us Just Live Here – Patrick Ness
  • Peggy and me – Miranda Hart
  • Before I die – Jenny DownHam
  • How Hard Can Love Be? – Holly Bourne
  • Calm – Michael Acton Smith
  • A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens
  • How to Write a Children’s book – Katie Davis
  • Infinite Sky – C.J. Flood

Top Five Books I didn’t enjoy

(In no particular order)

  • Fire Colour One – Jenny Valentine
  • The Crowham Martyrs – Jan McLouglin
  • The Door that Led to Where – Sally Gardner
  • Girl Online On Tour – Zoe Sugg
  • The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fotzgerald

Top Ten Books of 2016

10. The Rithmatist – Brandon Sanderson

9. Me Before You – Jojo Moyes

8. Throne Of Glass – Sarash J. Mass

7. A Thousand Pieces of You – Claudia Gray

6. Car-Jacked – Ali Sparkes

5. Winger – Andrew Smith

4.Am I Normal Yet? – Holly Bourne

3. Room – Emma Donoghue

2. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time – Mark Haddon

1.Dead to You – Lisa McMann

 

To look for any individual ratings/ reviews e.c.t, here is my goodreads : https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/34330993-lucy

Leave a Reply

