Rant: GCSE results – A* students are the best?

So GCSE results day for 2016 has happened. I am over the moon with my results but there is one thing that frustrates and annoys me more than anything – the fact that it’s only ever A* students that really get recognised.

In no way am I trying to imply that I dislike A* students andย what annoys me is not their fault but I want to let people know that it is not just A/A* students that work hard to get their grades.

A lot of people probably think that A* students worked so hard to get them grades. Yes, they did probably work hard to get them results – but does it never occur to anyone that those getting Cs have to work unbelievely hard sometimes too?

I feel it is made that only those who get As/A* are those who work the hardest but this is nowhere near true. When you think about those who are struggling to get a C in maths, having to go with extra tutoring and help to try and even get that C, does that not seem like hard work to some people? Yes, the C grade stuff is easier than the A grade stuff but as a reminder, for some people that C grade stuff can be incredibly hard.

Cs and Bs are made to look like grades that aren’t that good as usually all that’s mentioned is A and A*. Another reminder: Cs and Bs are not bad grades. Cs and Bs means you have passed.

I suppose what I’m trying to say is for some A*s come easier and for others Cs are hard to get. There’s just so much recognition for those top grades that sometimes I feel like everyone forgets about those who don’t get top grades but do stillย try incredibly hard.

Just because someone got a higher grade does not mean they necessarily tried any harder.

9 thoughts on “Rant: GCSE results – A* students are the best?

  1. This is completely true. I didn’t do much work at all for my GCSEs and everyone assumed I was clever and worked really when I got my grades. To be honest all I did was read over my notes the night before. But this actually made it so much worse for me during a levels which I actually found really hard. People assumed I was clever because I got very good GCSEs and when I got As results of BCDD I disappointed a lot of people even though i worked so hard to get those grades. I don’t really know what I’m saying here tbh but it’s tough on people the other way around to in some respects

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I got my GCSE’s a good few years ago now (im 24) but I can still completely relate to this post. I remember all of the recognition that people got when they got there A* and whilst its brilliant and I felt really happy for them, I was an average grade student and my Bs and Cs which I was really happy with seemed insignificant. I worked just as hard to get those grades as did most of the people who got A*s. Well done on your results, you should be so proud of yourself. I’m following your blog, I cant wait to follow your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s so sad how it’s the grades that get recognition, not a students happiness and effort. I know it’s a few years ago, but well done on your grades too! I’ve also followed back! I look forward to seeing your journeys as well!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. And the most annoying part is, you can put in all the revision and know all the information but if you don’t write it in a particular way in the exam, you don’t always get the mark! It’s just such an awful system! I’ve checked out your post! Well done on your results!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

